Topics of coins

European Football Championship UEFA 2012

The first UEFA European Football Championship took place in 1960 in France. Back then it was called the UEFA European Nations Cup, and has been held as UEFA European Football Championship since 1968. Poland and Ukraine have been entrusted with the organization of the 14th UEFA European Football Championship, and it is the first time that UEFA has assigned this task to Central and Eastern European countries. The venues for the tournament include Warsaw (the opening match on 8 June 20120, Gdańsk, Poznań and Wrocław as well as Kyiv (the final on 1 July 2012), Kharkiv, Donetsk and Lviv. The tournament has sixteen national teams competing for the Henri Delaunay Cup, named in honour of the first General Secretary of the UEFA.